AuthorTopic: Pre-rendered background  (Read 12769 times)

Offline G_Dragon

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Pre-rendered background

on: May 18, 2010, 06:21:11 pm


I figure this scene is close enough to done, and yet still loose enough to ask for crits.
Also, based off of this image- http://toolkitzone.com/vault/games/images/11983.png

Offline ndchristie

  • 0100
  • ***
  • Posts: 2426
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile

Re: Pre-rendered background

Reply #1 on: May 18, 2010, 07:04:49 pm
Well, you'll want to make your cobbles less deep/shaded, as well as to introduce some broader areas where they've become all but flat together from wear and dirt buildup (this works well in your reference).  Other than that, looking good! finish up your textures and start getting the lighting figured :).
A mistake is a mistake.
The same mistake twice is a bad habit.
The same mistake three or more times is a motif.

Offline Kidfrommars

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • My location? It's kinda obvious..
    • View Profile
    • RPG Land

Re: Pre-rendered background

Reply #2 on: May 18, 2010, 07:08:45 pm
Hi. I don't have much to say but I love khin's work.
I think this is prety nice, but the cobble stones look... blury, and they seem very bright. They hurt my eyes.

Offline G_Dragon

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Re: Pre-rendered background

Reply #3 on: May 19, 2010, 04:45:37 pm


Everyone was talking about the cobblestone, so I did some playing around with it.
The scene takes 11 minutes to render. D:

Offline big brother

  • 0010
  • *
  • Posts: 341
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • herculeanpixel.com
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio Site

Re: Pre-rendered background

Reply #4 on: May 19, 2010, 05:15:45 pm
You should adjust those barrels on the right side so the positioning is a little more organic. Right now they're in a line.

+11

Offline G_Dragon

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Re: Pre-rendered background

Reply #5 on: May 19, 2010, 06:52:46 pm


Time to model the props and add some more stuff!

Offline Kidfrommars

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • My location? It's kinda obvious..
    • View Profile
    • RPG Land

Re: Pre-rendered background

Reply #6 on: May 19, 2010, 07:20:02 pm
Great so far!   ;D

Offline ndchristie

  • 0100
  • ***
  • Posts: 2426
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile

Re: Pre-rendered background

Reply #7 on: May 19, 2010, 08:42:02 pm
Hmm, i feel like the path is still far more contrasty and now noisy compared with the rest, and there might be a resolution discrepency.  Is there a version you can use with less grain, finer texels, and less contrast?
A mistake is a mistake.
The same mistake twice is a bad habit.
The same mistake three or more times is a motif.

Offline G_Dragon

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Re: Pre-rendered background

Reply #8 on: May 20, 2010, 07:15:40 pm


You may see some render artifacts around the image. Ignore them, since I just wanted to quickly render out the scene. (2 minutes and 30 seconds compared to 11 minutes)

I tried to fix what ndchristie pointed out. I think it works, but it is still fairly easy to fix. The only thing in the scene that is a temporary object is the barrels, since I'm going to remodel it soon. After that, I need to add in a lamp stand, and maybe a few more models. As for adding people to the scene, I don't know if that is in the scope of this project.

A bit of a side note- all the textures are procedurally generated. So, there shouldn't be a resolution discrepancy.

Offline G_Dragon

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Re: Pre-rendered background

Reply #9 on: May 22, 2010, 06:30:06 am


Lighting now. I think I have maybe a few props left to put in the scene.