AuthorTopic: [C+C] 16 12-bit colors swordsman  (Read 9967 times)

Offline spektre

• View Profile

Re: [C+C] 16 12-bit colors swordsman

Reply #20 on: June 17, 2011, 12:08:15 pm
Latest animation draft, ready for some C+C except for the sword:

Video is really interesteing, the shield looks alot lighter than I imagined.
Yeah, they don't really seem like those brutes you get in a lot of popular culture, the weapons and gear is very agile and designed for tactics, at least according to Hammaborg's research (which I just recently learned from youtube, I'm far from an expert).

So it looks like when ur guy is walking he is not quite really ready to block, rather it looks like he is going for a walk with no enemies in sight.
I just don't know if that would look quite right if u r going to have zombies every where or do u have other ideas?
I guess I'm interested in how the game will play, the pace of it, the frequency of combat etc to be able to give feed back on wether the sprites are appropriate.
Maybe its an intentional part of ur control scheme that he automatically blocks when standing still?
You've got a point there, I have something in mind that you have a block key, and that you move a lot slower when blocking (using a different animation of course).  But I should think stuff through properly and plan more, I kind of just go along with what comes up right now.
It could look awkward being surrounded by zombies and not blocking with the current animation. On the other hand, even though it's a bad excuse, I think several games get away with rather casual walking animations.  Then again, it would be cool to top those.
I have done like one animation before, it's posted here on the forums, so there's a lot to take in during the process. Thanks for pointing out things I don't think about!

Offline Decroded

• Oh hai
    • View Profile

Reply #21 on: June 17, 2011, 10:55:13 pm