AuthorTopic: I need some help!!! I'm a beginner  (Read 4677 times)

Offline ravensdesigns

• View Profile

I need some help!!! I'm a beginner

on: January 25, 2016, 08:18:51 am
Hi! i'm having a problem with my character, i wan't it to be a character for survival games. I want it not to be plain but I also want it to be easy to animate that's why I chose 32x32 size but if it can't be helped i'll use 64x64 for better detail. The problem is It's way too plain (if i'm not overthinking).. the bag also doesn't have much detail.. somehow I think my problem is I lack on imagination on how colour would shape something like a watercan on the side of the bag , a rope and a shovel.. (I'm still learning english btw hehe.. so if you found some wrong grammars please be considerate and just ignore it.. that is if you can still understand it).

Offline Gil

• Too square to be hip
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/475.htm
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio

Re: I need some help!!! I'm a beginner

Reply #1 on: January 25, 2016, 05:42:33 pm
I don't think your problem is in the details. First off, great start, good style, this is already a great start. Basically, if you want to make him less plain, exaggerate what you have. Give him a more defiant pose, make the colors more bold, make it look like he's not wearing jeans and a tshirt.

This will of course change the character to be less plain and more heroic, but that might not be what you want, so you find a middle ground. Personally, I'd just push him a little bit. Give him a beard, better posture, little bit lumberjack like. That would make him stand out more, without turning him into a WoW character.

Like this maybe?

Offline ravensdesigns

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: January 26, 2016, 03:07:50 am
Wow!! thank you for giving some time on helping me ;D and giving me an example at that ^.^.