AuthorTopic: [CC][NEWBIE] Game Boy Stone tile  (Read 4068 times)

Offline mauriciv

• View Profile

[CC][NEWBIE] Game Boy Stone tile

on: November 29, 2015, 03:02:30 pm
Hey guys! First post here.
I'm an ultra noob, and I decided to start learning pixel art with the Game Boy color palette.
So, I was following this tutorial http://www.wildbunny.co.uk/blog/2012/03/01/designing-a-retro-pixel-art-tile-set/ and I'm stuck.
I just don't know how to make effective lighting, I don't know where each pixel should go.
Any advice you could give me?
« Last Edit: November 29, 2015, 03:35:37 pm by mauriciv »

Offline Pusty

• I like cheese
    • View Profile

Re: [CC][NEWBIE] Game Boy Stone tile

Reply #1 on: November 29, 2015, 10:40:10 pm
I think it's too easy to see the edges. (The big stone on the edges makes it too easy to see)
Just a random hobby gamedev passing by O:
[Ludum Dare][Itch.io]

Offline mauriciv

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: November 30, 2015, 01:04:30 am
You're right, I didn't notice that.
I tried fixing it, and also added some dithering, what do you think?

Offline Pusty

• I like cheese
    • View Profile

Reply #3 on: November 30, 2015, 01:30:49 am
I think it's way better now! Although having it in a context would help
Just a random hobby gamedev passing by O:
[Ludum Dare][Itch.io]

Offline mauriciv

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: November 30, 2015, 01:38:13 am
Well, I don't really have any context for it yet, I'm literally just starting out  :lol:
Thank you so much!

Offline spO_oks

• View Profile

Reply #5 on: November 30, 2015, 04:05:06 pm
I think you did a pretty good job first time round, and the dithered version also looks good, but I can still see where each tile is, due to the two big stones that you have and the bigger highlights they have, I tried a version making the highlights smaller and adding multiple smaller highlights to the same stone, I think it's kinda helped lose the grid.