AuthorTopic: [WIP] Isometric Buildings  (Read 6213 times)

Offline Jakerpot

• View Profile

[WIP] Isometric Buildings

on: April 18, 2010, 09:57:48 pm
Hey there! This is my first try at isometric, and i'm very satisfied with the results!  ;D

I want to know your opinion about the colours, size, proportions, style, etc...

See ya!

Offline The Mozack

• View Profile

Re: [WIP] Isometric Buildings

Reply #1 on: April 19, 2010, 01:38:17 pm
Considering their 1960s/1970s architecture, the second and fourth buildings look the look. But the first building appears to use columns of windows that alternate in width, appearing messy, especially when there is only an even number of window columns. The arrangement of colours is also inconsistent here; some columns use darker colors between windows, while others don't. Unless you're aiming for an irregular facade, it's usually helpful to simply copy-paste the columns so that inconsistencies can be eliminated. The sides of the building facing the viewer is also awfully saturated with lines, appearing messy. I suggest toning it down a bit so you have more room to work with.

The same can be applied to the third building. Experiment around.

Offline Jakerpot

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: April 19, 2010, 03:06:48 pm
I really apreciated your suggestions, and i will try to apply them on the 3 building too. Thanks  :y:

I made a quick edit in the 3 building:

I removed the vertical lines because I thought it was very messy. I still have to work on the windows, but i'm walking on a cirlce...
« Last Edit: April 20, 2010, 11:29:45 pm by Jakerpot »

Offline The Mozack

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: April 20, 2010, 03:55:27 pm
The key to it is consistency. You can follow a two or three pixel pattern or more (with dots, lines or a mix of both), but make sure it repeats as the example provided shows. Sky's the limit from that point on.

Offline Jakerpot

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: April 20, 2010, 11:37:29 pm