AuthorTopic: Crap, hey but I am a newb  (Read 7023 times)

Offline future_man

• View Profile

Re: Crap, hey but I am a newb

Reply #10 on: August 21, 2013, 04:36:22 pm
Hi. I shrunk it down a bit to make an edit, just because it is easier to work with.

I'm not great with this sort of thing, but I tried to make the colors less saturated and establish some depth. I felt water would have some reflections and in general shapes could be defined more with shading.

The details can come after you have a nice structural underpinning. And objects would become less detailed as they recede into the distance.

wow that is amazing, you are a real gentleman Parkerbaby. I have a question though it's also for PypeBros...

About the details, can you give an example how and what details should I start adding after I make my composition to give the piece that pixel art feel?

Offline Parkerbaby

• View Profile

Reply #11 on: August 21, 2013, 07:58:37 pm
Currently the size you've been working with makes it difficult for you to pay as much attention to the pixel level as might be necessary. It would take a lot of work.
http://www.pixeljoint.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=11299 is a tutorial by Cure that can help explain pixel level detail.

Offline PypeBros

• Pixel Padawan
    • PypeBros
    • View Profile
    • Bilou Homebrew's Blog.

Reply #12 on: August 21, 2013, 09:43:50 pm
wow that is amazing, you are a real gentleman Parkerbaby. I have a question though it's also for PypeBros...

About the details, can you give an example how and what details should I start adding after I make my composition to give the piece that pixel art feel?

I'd check http://jnkboy.deviantart.com/art/Brave-Guy-vs-Drill-Crue-176591560 and http://jnkboy.deviantart.com/art/Yet-another-RPG-battle-175417394 a second look for that.