AuthorTopic: Mage sprite take 2  (Read 2651 times)

Offline Sentient|Sago

• View Profile

Mage sprite take 2

on: June 25, 2016, 10:21:25 am
Hey guys! I changed his design a bit, hopefully more people could comment on it. First off, yeah, the side view doesn't have the folds on the clothing. I didn't draw the folds because I wanted you guys to advise me on how to do it. I'm a big noob when it comes to drawing, and so I was hoping you guys could give me some tips, or perhaps direct me to some easy-to-understand tutorials (I can't find any simple ones.) Any criticism is very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

jun

Re: Mage sprite take 2

Reply #1 on: June 25, 2016, 11:21:29 am
Well, it seems like a few things changed from some dude's pixelart character tutorial. 

I'm a big noob when it comes to drawing, and so I was hoping you guys could give me some tips, or perhaps direct me to some easy-to-understand tutorials

I would stay away from "tutorials" if I were you. You should learn drawing from the ground up. Websites like www.drawabox.com are a great starting point for learning fundamentals. You should also look into buying books like Fun With A Pencil by Andrew Loomis.

Of course, you can just keep forcing your way through without learning the fundamentals, but it's really not efficient in my opinion. They're giving you the fish. You should learn how to do fishing! And then you'll be able to catch the rarest and the most beautiful fish yourself.

I will refrain from editing the character. You should try to make an original design :D It's way more fun that way, and you'll learn a lot more than following a linear tutorial in my opinion.

Forget about folds and clothes for now. Show us some sketches of a character you made yourself, something you wanted to make!
Good luck.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2016, 11:23:54 am by jun »

Offline Curly

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: June 25, 2016, 12:03:43 pm