AuthorTopic: Billy (ZX Spectrum pic)  (Read 5577 times)

Offline ptoing

• variegated quadrangle arranger
    • the_ptoing
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/2191.htm
    • View Profile
    • Perpetually inactive website

Billy (ZX Spectrum pic)

on: May 19, 2006, 08:34:48 pm
I found ZX Spectrum graphics always intruiging from the first time I saw em which if i recall correctly was around 2003 when i joined pixelation and saw some stuff of Gas13. I tried it a few times but always failed sorely.

So recently i looked at quite a few demoscene pics for the speccy and i studied what those artists did to work with the restrictions and after closer inspections it's a pretty tiny ruleset everyone should be able to figure out more or less fast.

The restrictions are 256x192 pixels, divided into 8x8 tiles. 8 fullbright colours (white, red, green, blue, cyan, magenta, yellow and black) and the same colours a bit darker (white becomes grey and black stays black).
Each tile can have 2 colours and also has to be either dark or bright. There can be no bright and dark colour in the same tile, so making smooth transitions from say light to dark red is impossible more or less.

here is what i came up with and i reckon it's ok for a 1st proper try.

and progressanimation
There are no ugly colours, only ugly combinations of colours.

Offline sevenfingers

• View Profile

Re: Billy (ZX Spectrum pic)

Reply #1 on: May 19, 2006, 09:55:21 pm
I approve!

Offline Darion

• View Profile
    • Portfolio bitch

Reply #2 on: May 20, 2006, 05:59:02 pm
Haha, badass. I also like how you put a twist on the style.

I really don't have much of anything to critique, and afraid that if I do, it may not even be possible. Hot job, Bob.
@darionmccoy

Offline Panda

• 威風堂々
    • View Profile

Reply #3 on: May 20, 2006, 06:11:58 pm
This image got me curious about the whole Spectrum thing, so probably will experiment with something soon.