AuthorTopic: [WIP] Pine Tree  (Read 13317 times)

Offline djfluffwug

• View Profile

[WIP] Pine Tree

on: January 04, 2013, 01:58:46 pm
Hello everyone,

After browsing for inspiration for my pixel art I found this forum and I am very glad to have found it.
I am very new to pixel art as I recently took on a game project without an artist to help me out. I decided I would do the art.
Anyways enough about that, I have been working on tree art for a while now and this is the results I got. I would really appreciate feedback on how I could improve it.

Thanks!

Offline Lachie Dazdarian

• View Profile
    • The Maker Of Stuff

Re: [WIP] Pine Tree

Reply #1 on: January 04, 2013, 02:38:54 pm
There seems to be some problems with conflicting light sources here. It seems like the light is cast on the branches directly from top, while on the trunk from side-ways.

I would suggest casting light from top left or top right direction, and definitely don't forget to cash shadow on the trunk from the very tree, as well as from group of branches onto branches under them. I also think you need to define your green more clearly. There is a great tutorial on trees by kiwinuptuo: http://kiwinuptuo.deviantart.com/gallery/27054576#/d393ikq

« Last Edit: January 04, 2013, 02:44:46 pm by Lachie Dazdarian »

Offline djfluffwug

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: January 04, 2013, 03:06:30 pm
Thanks a lot for the feedback. Really appreciated. I can now see all the errors I have made with it :P

I guess I will try follow that tutorial first then see if I can put it into practice on this tree to fix it up.
Will post my progress once I have fixed it up some more.

Offline Lachie Dazdarian

• View Profile
    • The Maker Of Stuff

Reply #3 on: January 04, 2013, 03:08:13 pm
Pine trees are tricky. I would personally try to make it without foliage first, and then add it.

Offline tim

• Founder of Odd Tales - Art Director
    • View Profile
    • Tim Soret - Showreel