AuthorTopic: [WiP] A village sim game, pixel by pixel  (Read 4576 times)

Offline Catman

• View Profile

[WiP] A village sim game, pixel by pixel

on: March 05, 2014, 07:05:19 pm
Hello! My name is Michele and I am making a village simulation game, think of 'The Settlers'
I am not an artist, but since I decided to use pixel art for this project, and since I've always been interested in learning it, I'd like to give it a try myself. If I really screw up, I'll contact a real artist. :)

Anyway, here is a screenshot from the current prototype:

As you can see, I chose to use large pixels. This is because I want to create dozens if not hundrends of sprites for buildings, pipos, tools, hats and so on, hence why I wanted a small grid size for me to be able to create a lot of them (and keep the memory size small). Also, it seemed easier to create them!

I welcome suggestions and critiques on anything, be it style or readability or whatsoever, but I do have one precise question, to start out.

I first present to you a Pipo:

This is an inhabitant of this game's world, and is your most precious resource.

I decided to use a 8x8 sprite for the Pipos, as they are really small in-game and using a larger sprite the detail looked too much in respect to the rest of the game.
As you can see, the Pipos' pixels are still half of the rest.
Is this, in your opinion, a correct way of doing it, or should I make the sprite even smaller (so it has the same pixel size as the rest), or make everything else more detailed, to the same effect, but having then to create bigger sprites for everything?

For reference, here are a few more Pipos:

And an alternative Pipo, in a different style, where he gains beautiful blue eyes at the cost of his own hair, in an effort to reduce the number of colours used him (now just 3):

Thank you to anyone who can help! :)

« Last Edit: March 06, 2014, 08:44:40 am by Catman »

Offline Manupix

• View Profile
    • Pixeljoint gallery