AuthorTopic: Spaceships C+C  (Read 5030 times)

Offline mhajnal

• View Profile

Spaceships C+C

on: May 15, 2012, 08:21:38 pm
I'm making a lightweight space RTS, and decided to try and draw my own sprites to use in the game. I'm a programmer, and these are my first attempts at pixel art. I feel that they need some improvement, but I just don't know what and how to change. Please help me out with some advice. Thanks!

With black background:

2x zoom:

With pink background, to show outlining:

Some more info:
These are supposed to be sprites for the 2 smallest ship classes (out of 5). I will probably animate them slightly. I use pillow-shading, because the ships are gonna be facing different directions every time.

Offline PypeBros

• Pixel Padawan
    • PypeBros
    • View Profile
    • Bilou Homebrew's Blog.

Re: Spaceships C+C

Reply #1 on: May 16, 2012, 07:26:55 am
These are supposed to be sprites for the 2 smallest ship classes (out of 5). I will probably animate them slightly. I use pillow-shading, because the ships are gonna be facing different directions every time.

If you mean light might come from left or right, then you're definitely better to double your # of sprites and come with proper shading.
If you mean you want free rotation of your sprites, as in solar winds, for instance, then the best way I see is to assume front lightning (i.e. the player is the lightsource) -- or more likely, use some computer rendering (i.e. go for low-poly 3D model rather than pixel art).

Pillow shading is just ignoring shape altogether and put a raster you don't understand. I doubt you want to do that.

Offline rikfuzz

• View Profile
    • twitter @hot_pengu

Reply #2 on: May 16, 2012, 08:14:42 am