AuthorTopic: Over the Moon  (Read 4508 times)

Offline Pizza Tom

• @pizzadramon
    • pizzatom
    • View Profile
    • Blag

Over the Moon

on: February 06, 2013, 06:46:29 am
Wanted to make something fun for my 2 year old, and he loves the moon, so this seemed the logical choice.

This is my first attempt at two lightsources (or chromatic shadows, or whatever you call it), so help me tear this apart. Not terribly sure about the entire palette, actually. I'm all for reusing colors, but I'm worried the cow and moon share too much. Thoughts?
pizzatom.tumblr.com
@pizzadramon

Formerly Regulus Awesome

Offline Facet

• View Profile

Re: Over the Moon

Reply #1 on: February 07, 2013, 03:38:40 am
Logic: irrefutable. Fun: yes :D

You might be over-thinking the palette; I wouldn't have known specifically that there was a dual lightsource in mind because it's a bit of a strange situation and there's a not a whole lot of shadow anywhere. There's plenty of scope to play around with that though and I just wanted to example a few other things because, as an illustration, I think it might read better simplified out a bit and locked to a more of a leaping arc (I just forgot to add back the cow boobs, does make for a nice line though :P)

In the edit I also kept contrast & detail to our intrepid bovine's face, tried to give her some kind of emote, and by the same line of thinking: tooned up the moon with (not sure if it works) a cow-shaped shadow down there for a bit of relation.

Offline Pizza Tom

• @pizzadramon
    • pizzatom
    • View Profile
    • Blag

Reply #2 on: February 07, 2013, 09:58:34 pm
Thanks, Facet! You basically addressed all the things I was trying to do and just couldn't get there. I think I got caught up in being realistic a bit too much, which is especially silly considering it's for a small child.  :P

So, here's my attempt at incorporating all your crits: