AuthorTopic: [C&C] My first completed piece  (Read 2887 times)

Offline greengalaxy

• View Profile

[C&C] My first completed piece

on: June 04, 2016, 10:16:56 pm
Hey everyone! I'm a real beginner on pixel art. I've tried a few times to do something in the past, but in the end I would give up on completing the piece. 3 days ago I made this small portrait of a guy, the first pixel art piece I've ever completed.

I started by using my black and white drawing as a base, resizing it and drawing the basic pixel outlines on top of it. Then I put the base colors and started working on it. I tried to somehow keep the style and proportions I use on my non-pixel pieces. For the colors I made my own palette based on what I would use if I was working with watercolor. I used the free version of Graphics Gale to do it. If I remember correctly I worked mostly at 900% resolution.

If possible I'd like to have comments and critiques, have mistakes pointed out, etc. This is my first time actually doing pixel art. I'm used with drawing on traditional media, so the process of having to learn everything again is kinda frustrating, but I'm eager to practice, make more pieces and improve. Thanks in advance :3

Offline MysteryMeat

• "The new alternative to q-tipping your cat!"
    • mysterymeat
    • spoiledmysterymeat
    • View Profile
    • My rad art blog!

Re: [C&C] My first completed piece

Reply #1 on: June 04, 2016, 10:27:51 pm
Long neck on this one, his shoulders would be showing here. Good stuff otherwise, but I'd either try to get the shoulders in there around 4-6 pixels from the bottom or remove the neck so it's just a floating head.
PSA: use imgur
http://pixelation.org/index.php?topic=19838.0 also go suggest on my quest, cmon
MAJOR BORK TALLY: |

Offline greengalaxy

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: June 04, 2016, 11:11:45 pm