AuthorTopic: Help with my spaceport!  (Read 5060 times)

Offline Supahcool

• View Profile

Help with my spaceport!

on: February 16, 2010, 01:20:29 pm
This is the first time I'm doing pixelart this is the result I got. Something of a space station but I ran out of ideas pretty fast...

Putting this up here for some comments and ideas as I'm really new at this. What would you guys change/add? Is the shading ok?

Reference: http://www.pixeljoint.com/pixelart/36828.htm
« Last Edit: February 16, 2010, 01:37:42 pm by Supahcool »

Offline Supahcool

• View Profile

Re: Help with my spaceport!

Reply #1 on: February 18, 2010, 10:27:39 am
There must be things wrong with it? I'd really like to know how you choose the palette so you can make it look like it has many levels and still have the shading right (not mix up or run out of colors). Thanks.

Offline Lizzrd

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: February 18, 2010, 10:52:25 am
It doesn't really look like a spaceport...
Photocopier: the fact that arne can also code so well
Photocopier: is horrificly unfair

Offline JJ Naas

• View Profile
    • My Deviantart page

Reply #3 on: February 18, 2010, 11:03:43 am
Is it a structure that's on the surface of the planet, seen from the above, or does it orbit a planet in space? I like the pixel work, and the clean shapes and shades so far, I just can't figure out what it is.

Offline Supahcool

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: February 18, 2010, 12:04:49 pm
Yeah, it's something stationed in space looked at from directly on top  :) I can see why it must be difficult to make sense of since there isn't much detail to go with. I tried to make it look like today's space structures, sort of hacked together. I was trying not to follow the Dodonpachi style as it gets really cluttered and difficult to keep track of, but I'd really like to give it some of the detail you get from that style. Still keeping it very simple. Any suggestions? Thanks :)

Offline JJ Naas

• View Profile
    • My Deviantart page