AuthorTopic: Making my Pixel Avatar  (Read 7119 times)

Offline Incendax

• View Profile

Making my Pixel Avatar

on: February 25, 2008, 02:00:08 am
Trying my hand at pixel art, only really dabbled in it before with some game sprites/tiles and whatnot.  Generally I'm a traditional artist but wanted to try to make one of my line art drawings into a pixel avatar.  And chose to limit myself to 16 colours.

Its 100x100 16-colour with a pointless mazy background that I kinda liked irregardless

ORIGINAL:

CURRENT:   <-- Think its good enough for me at the moment
« Last Edit: February 26, 2008, 08:44:53 pm by Incendax »

Offline VictorR

• Let's fighting love..
    • View Profile

Re: Making my Pixel Avatar

Reply #1 on: February 25, 2008, 03:57:17 am
Looks really good so far, the lines are just too "thick" ? Clean them up a bit, they look too rough around the chin area.

Offline Incendax

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: February 25, 2008, 08:11:12 pm
I'm not really certain how to make them any thinner, they are generally only 1 pixel wide afterall.

Offline Indigo

• Administrator
  • Artist, Indie Game Dev
    • DanFessler
    • DanFessler
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/849.htm
    • DanFessler
    • DanFessler
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio

Offline I Am Uh

• I feel... Saturated to some degree, out of tone.
    • View Profile

Reply #4 on: February 25, 2008, 08:31:33 pm
I think what VictorR is trying to say is the lines look a bit rough. It's not so much that they're rough, just that there needs to maybe be a bit more depth so it's more noticeable. try adding a few more colors or maybe a highlight like on the more defined areas.

Here's an edit I made to show you what I mean.

I'm not saying thats exactly how you should have it, but a brighter color may bring out some definition that may otherwise go unnoticed.

Oh Btw, I love the cell shaded look, works well with this piece.
They say evil prevails when good men fail to act. What they oughta' say is...
Evil prevails.