AuthorTopic: Need some help improving my RPG's sprites  (Read 10302 times)

Offline Firgof

• View Profile

Need some help improving my RPG's sprites

on: March 15, 2009, 07:40:07 pm

So here's the concept art for the battle sprite of this character.  I have a photoshop document where every single piece of his armor and clothing, and the blood on all parts of the body, armor, and clothes are layered and able to be turned on and off (first off, is this a good idea); including his hair which is not featured in the pic.  I'm really newbish and ham-fisted when it comes to art in general so the precision required in spriting is particularly uncomfortable for me.  But I want to improve my art in all categories anyway so I'm toughing it out and doing my best. :)

However!  His sprite sheet looks really amateurish (fitting, as I am an amateur and this is my first real sprite sheet of a character).  Looking for improvement in all areas (shading, color, stance, movement) because he sure could use it.  As you can tell from the above image, the sprite sheet below is also too 'cartoony' (proportionally and in color palette) but I don't have any idea how to make the sprite sheet more representative of the 'ideal' (the above, which also needs a lot of work to look as good as it should).

The Sprite Sheet:

In addition, I also need help converting drawn images to pixels.  For instance, this concept art for a Kraviklaw needs badly to be sprited but I've no idea where to begin.

What are your critiques, suggestions, and 'by the way, watch out for's?