AuthorTopic: [WIP]Detective's Room background  (Read 6045 times)

Offline brod

• Chocolate Covered
    • View Profile
    • Website

[WIP]Detective's Room background

on: February 10, 2010, 12:33:43 am
Alright so I'm working on a background for a Phoenix Wright-styled game of mine, and if you've played the game, you'll know that the backgrounds are one of the if not THE most important part of the entire game. And so, it's pretty important I get this as close to awesome as I possibly can. So, this is what I have so far for the "Detective's Agency:"

(Door and Clock will be shaded later)
(The grey thing next to the table is a plastic bag)

In all honesty, I've never worked with backgrounds before and this is pretty much my first attempt at it. So I'd like as much crit as possible, and feel free to bash it as much as you want, I want to improve, so please don't beat around the bush.

And um, that's all. Thanks for reading and (hopefully) commenting.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2010, 12:42:09 am by brod »

Offline Chis

• My name does not have an r
    • View Profile
    • o'er at pixeljoint

Re: [WIP]Detective's Room background

Reply #1 on: February 10, 2010, 12:57:42 am
Well, here goes my nitpicking.
I think some intermediate shades or some dithering could help with the diffusing light. Also, that bar-shaped shadow under the table is slightly off. In this image, if you look at the shadow to the left of the sink, it forms a straight line from the source of light to the edge of the table.
If you're aiming for realistic accuracy, I also think that the individual wooden planks are too wide (only two rows fit under the table? ::)) and the door frame is too wide.
The plank covering the hole is too short in relation to all of the other ones (if it wasn't taken from the same batch, maybe discolor it to emphasize the difference). I also find it odd how it fits perfectly into the hole sideways while being skewed.
Nice work so far.

Offline Mike

• View Profile