AuthorTopic: Exterior AA and selout  (Read 3725 times)

Offline Dusty

• View Profile

Exterior AA and selout

on: January 11, 2010, 03:22:48 am
I find myself doing this a lot simply because it irks me so much to see such jagged black outlines. Is it acceptable to just have jagged black outlines for the sake of background compatibility? For example, I started some icons simply for practice and fun:

And it started off without any exterior AA because I felt it didn't need it. But as I started playing with more shapes on the swords I started adding more and more. Should I just resist the temptation and keep the black outlines or can AA like this be excusable, even if it does happen to pass over lighter backgrounds? Is there an alternative method to making it more appealing? This is the sort of thing I have a constant problem with in all my work.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2010, 03:24:27 am by Dusty »

Offline Jakten

• The Bionic Vapor Boy
    • View Profile
    • Levitating Rocksquatch

Re: Exterior AA and selout

Reply #1 on: January 11, 2010, 05:55:16 am
I'd say it depends on what the background is that your image will be laid over. If the sel-out is noticeable it should be changed or removed. I think it would be fine for a static image like this against this background as it doesn't negatively effect your images.

Nice swords by the way, I really like the 3rd one.

Offline Indigo

• Administrator
  • Artist, Indie Game Dev
    • DanFessler
    • DanFessler
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/849.htm
    • DanFessler
    • DanFessler
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio

Reply #2 on: January 11, 2010, 05:59:25 pm
You can do a trick if you're up for it and use alpha'd color indexes for outer AA.  You can't properly index you image if you do that (it'd have to remain 32-bit), but it works well none the less.

Offline Dusty

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: January 12, 2010, 04:42:41 am