AuthorTopic: [WIP] RPG Pirate sprite  (Read 2882 times)

Offline MicKo

• Ylzorr
    • View Profile
    • itch.io

[WIP] RPG Pirate sprite

on: December 07, 2009, 08:26:27 am
Hi there, first time posting here after being advised to come here if I needed help.
I'm a beginner with pixels and have a lot of trouble doing some stuff. Right now I'm having trouble coloring a pirate for a RPG.

Just so you know, I did only the colouring, the template was kindly shared by green raven (http://www.greensart.nl).
So, first of all, I made the front view and here's what I have so far : (Ah, looks like the shadow below the guy didn't make it with the animated gif)

(Yeah, he's a kind pirate)
So my problem with it, I guess, is coming from the hair. I tried for hours to have nice shadows and highlights, but I'm not entirely satisfied. Also, I'm not really sure there's enough contrast with the cloths.

Here's the non animated version + the start of the side view (I'd need help on the hair here too, I'm just lost here :p) :

So... Here. If you have ANY advice I would gladly try my best to improve this little guy. Thanks!

EDIT1 : Deleted a few colors

EDIT2 : I upped the contrast of the belt (well, I tried to at least :p), changed the shirt so that it doesn't give the feeling I mirrored it (not sure if I'm satisfied with it though) and tried to clear the hair next to the eye patch.

« Last Edit: December 07, 2009, 02:27:57 pm by MicKo »

Offline Ultimaodin

• Unknown Artistry
    • View Profile

Re: [WIP] RPG Pirate sprite

Reply #1 on: December 07, 2009, 01:27:25 pm
The issue with your sprite is definately contrast. your details just don't stand out. I didn't really notice the peg leg or the beard until I zoomed in and the eye patch looks like an extended piece of hair. Which made me think of a red-headed emo. (sorry to all emo's I didn't mean this as offence)