AuthorTopic: [WIP] Some sprites for a game. Help needed, please!  (Read 5843 times)

Offline Izze

• View Profile

[WIP] Some sprites for a game. Help needed, please!

on: October 28, 2009, 10:38:54 pm
Hello, everybody. I'm new here, and I'm also quite new to pixel art.

I've been working on a game for some time. You play as the chicken LM Papap, wich wife's eggs has been stolen. It's up to LM Papap to get them back. His weapon against the enemies is seeds, that he shoots at them. he will also learn new skills throughout his adventure, and you will be able to collect some power-ups. There's also coins that you can buy stuff with.

All the sprites are made from scratch. I'd like to get some C+C on my sprites, as I'm not happy enough with them. I don't know what's bugging me about them, there's just something wrong.

So please, could someone look at my sprites, and tell me how to improve. I'd be very grateful!

(That isn't an in-game picture. My graphics card is weird, so I can't print screen)

Offline questseeker

• View Profile

Re: [WIP] Some sprites for a game. Help needed, please!

Reply #1 on: October 29, 2009, 10:38:41 am
The most obviously wrong thing about your rather decent sprites is that they are incompatible with your equally decent tiles and background images:
  • Cute stylization vs mildly simplified realistic style
  • Thick outlines vs very low contrast shades of mild colours (and even haze!)
  • Flat colours vs 1-pixel scale foliage textures and prodigal proliferation of shades of green, brown and azure
The floating pumpkin seeds (?) in front of trees and the cliff tiles having light brown outlines are the worst instances of this incoherence.

Did you draw everything or recycle existing graphics? I'm asking because you should decide what assets can be least painfully replaced or adapted to the rest. Personally I admire the trees but I find the sprites more promising for use in a game.