AuthorTopic: Art Swiping?  (Read 3649 times)

Offline BrandonD

• View Profile

Art Swiping?

on: June 24, 2009, 09:39:32 pm
Hi guys, I have a question:

I've been a contract-based pixel artist for many years, but I've always made non-game art for companies (animated cursors, illustrations, etc). I want to add some animated sprites to my portfolio because I'd really love to make art for a video game. Especially something fantasy, which is probably my favorite game genre. You guys give excellent critiques, so I'd love to put these sprites up for your comments.

But now that I want to put art up in a public forum, I can't help but wonder: what's to keep people from just swiping your art and using it for something they're making? Is it just sort of an honor system? Or are there precautionary steps you can take before putting up your art?

It's not that I think my art is such hot sh*t, some of you guys could pixel-art me into the ground. I just want to know if there are any precautionary actions I don't know about. 

Thanks everyone.

Offline Dusty

• View Profile

Re: Art Swiping?

Reply #1 on: June 24, 2009, 09:53:56 pm
People will steal it. If it's on the internet, chances are someone is going to steal it. People around here usually don't, but sometimes you'll find a post with stolen art and such.

If someone wants to steal bad enough, I don't think there's much you can do in terms of prevention.

Offline Sherman Gill

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: June 24, 2009, 10:29:25 pm
Inspite of Dusty's inevitability post, not much is stolen and if it is it's by some 12 year old kid on deviantart or something harmless.
No precautions to take, really, but it's not really a problem usually.
Oh yes naked women are beautiful
But I like shrimps more haha ;)

Offline BrandonD

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: June 24, 2009, 11:20:44 pm
Inspite of Dusty's inevitability post, not much is stolen and if it is it's by some 12 year old kid on deviantart or something harmless.