AuthorTopic: [WIP] Boulderdash type character animation (Programmer art :S)  (Read 3429 times)

Offline lutas

• View Profile
Hi all, I'm a programmer attempting to get by with some art and could really use some critique :) This is my player sprite for my next game destined for Xbox 360 community games.

As you can clearly see, the left-right animations are horrendous and I'm not sure where to progress. Can anyone recommend a good tutorial for drawing character animations for this perspective?

I'm very tempted to just pay for professional art but still would like to try and improve anyhow.

Offline AlexWeldon

• View Profile
Well, first of all, be consistent with your style. In some places you have a black outline, in others you don't. Seen from the front, his head is V-shaped, but from the side, it's more like a Lego-guy's head.

Also, no one stands with their elbows out and their legs spread like that.

Offline JonathanOfDrain

• Lonely
    • View Profile
    • TheyWillEat.Us
I don't mean to be rude, but this sprite seriously gives me a head ache. It feels like it's very blurry. What's up with that?

Other than that I think you would really benefit from doing a few sketches with pen(cil) and paper.

Offline Squiggly_P

• View Profile
It looks like you resized this image horizontally or something (or possibly moved it) and I'm guessing you're using photoshop or something similar, so it' made the piece blurry-looking.  There are a lot of 2D animation resources out there, a lot of it just happens to be made for traditional 2D animators rather than pixel art / sprite animation.

http://www.wayofthepixel.net/pixelation/index.php?topic=3467.0