AuthorTopic: Manny Calavera walksprite c+c  (Read 3921 times)

Offline Srejv

• View Profile

Manny Calavera walksprite c+c

on: March 23, 2009, 02:42:29 am
Heya,

This is my first gif animation ever. I'm trying to make a small grim fandango 2d game (just the first 3 puzzles), for the fun of programming and trying out pixeling. I'm pretty new to this but I tried reading some tutorials just to get the techniques right (though I don't really know when to use what yet but I'm getting there)

Critique is very welcome as I'm here to learn! (no ass-patting as stated in the rules/guidelines) ;D

Oh yeah, Manny Calavera and Grim Fandango is the property of LucasArts/LucasGames.

Animation

Sheet

Offline Rydin

• ...zzzt...
    • @thickDumps
    • View Profile
    • thickDumps

Re: Manny Calavera walksprite c+c

Reply #1 on: March 23, 2009, 03:11:16 am
When you converted the frames to a gif, it applied some unwanted noise, making the animation difficult to read, and ultimately ruining the pixel art.

Edit:

Also, welcome to Pixelation! ^_^
Man cannot remake himself without suffering for he is both the marble and the sculptor.

Offline Squiggly_P

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: March 23, 2009, 06:43:19 am
Arms and legs move opposite one another.  Left arm forward + right leg forward.  Right arm forward + left leg forward.
The noise does make the motion hard to crit very well.
The sprite itself is interesting to me in that it poses an odd challenge:  Manny was designed to be a stylized 3D character, and he has a very simple, iconic sort of look.  Trying to get that likeness with just a handful of pixels will be difficult - especially if it's just black and white.