AuthorTopic: Some sprites.  (Read 6953 times)

Offline CharlesGabriel

• Veritas Omnia Vincit
    • View Profile
    • CG Artsenal

Some sprites.

on: March 11, 2009, 03:43:25 pm
Well, as I stated in my introduction, I have been spriting since january 2009. I'm currently learning and practicing and trying to improve myself... my original characters, as well original sprites in general I will be using them in an rpgmaker project I'm currently developing. Aside from that, I also sprite characters from different commercial games, for fun, and to see how well I can do them.

Here is the latest character I made, in between yesterday and today... I don't use a tablet, raw mouse, in fact I am actually afraid of even touching a tablet haha... I make all my sprites in a program called Charamaker1999, which most people who develop games in rpgmaker 2003 use. To make the commercial sprites, I usually look at the artwork of that character, as reference, so I can cover as much details I can based my current knowledge.

*image removed*

I take a lot of notes, and self-apply myself in details, such as how much time it took me, etc... Here is the usual sheet of how I make my sprites:

As you can see in the sheet, I usually start without doing the skeleton lines, but jump straight into making circles, then I separate the colors of the circles according to the different parts of the body ex. green is skin, blue is clothing, purple can be clothing or skin that is in front of the body in blue, etc...

While I build the poses, I tend to change some things too, it all depends, a few times I change my mind and in even some cases. I would like to hear some criticism on this sprite. Thanks in advance.

EDIT: I actually want to show you two more sprites, one from february, and one of my first sprites from january.

february:

*image removed*

january:
*image removed*

« Last Edit: July 14, 2012, 05:13:38 pm by CharlesGabriel »

Offline Zeal*

• View Profile

Re: Some sprites.