AuthorTopic: WIP Hooded graffiti  (Read 3763 times)

Offline Eskiboy

• Coming up
    • View Profile

WIP Hooded graffiti

on: January 26, 2009, 06:21:37 pm
Hi there, Im chris and im a relatively new artist compaired to some of the artists here :) So i figured if i want to get better i must get proper Crits rather then just looking at tutorials :)
Ok so heres my WIP:

Im trying to shade it correctly(the hood, yeah i no... looks horrid =/), Pallets pretty simple colour ramping >_< but i will try making it more interesting after lol

Offline Gil

• Too square to be hip
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/475.htm
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio

Re: WIP Hooded graffiti

Reply #1 on: January 26, 2009, 07:15:17 pm
Most often, new artists obscure the face out of fear of drawing the face, more than anything else. I'm not sure if that's the case here, but I'd introduce at least parts of the face, since that small of a hoodie wouldn't really obscure the whole face, would it?

I know the whole eyes in the dark thing is cool, but I've seen so many pieces using it that it quickly becomes a bore.

Besides, drawing a face will give you a better understanding of pixel art, as the subject matter of a face is full of interplays between light and dark, volumes, anatomy, etc. Drawing the human face is always a good art lesson. If you're not comfortable drawing a face from scratch, try getting a reference, a mirror or a photo camera to help you out.

Offline Eskiboy

• Coming up
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: January 26, 2009, 08:02:22 pm
Heh ok so i tryed to keep the face in the dark style but define shape on the face like you said and heres what i have:

Offline Gil

• Too square to be hip
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio

Reply #3 on: January 26, 2009, 09:04:02 pm
Okay, some pointers.

- The light seems to come from a different direction on every object
- The spray can has almost no contrast at all
- The body needs a lot more volume