AuthorTopic: Self Portrait  (Read 8868 times)

Offline CaKsTeR

• View Profile

Self Portrait

on: January 15, 2009, 11:22:24 pm
As an excuse for me to keep working on pixel art, I decided to try my hand at making a self portrait. It's my first attempt at this kind of think, so I'm sure there will be a LOT of mistakes. Bear with me  :)

WIP #1:

And here's my reference pic:

Thanks in advance for C+C :D

EDIT:

Forgot to say, I posted this because I'd like some crits on the lineart currently, and any tips on how to start the face. Sorry  :(
« Last Edit: January 15, 2009, 11:33:53 pm by CaKsTeR »

Offline Akira

• Heheheh
    • View Profile

Re: Self Portrait

Reply #1 on: January 15, 2009, 11:41:39 pm
have you ever tried working without a lineart? Painting blobs of colour for shading and highlights and gradually adding detail to the blobs? You might find that it gives you much more realistic volumes. Currently i think that your head in the lineart is too large. You might want to get further along before asking for c+c though. If there isn't much to see people won't have much to say.
thanks Dogmeat!

Offline CaKsTeR

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: January 15, 2009, 11:49:10 pm
Painting blobs of colour? I think I get what you mean. I'll try it out and see how it goes, thanks :)

Offline Mathias

• Goodbye.
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/9542.htm
    • View Profile

Reply #3 on: January 16, 2009, 12:18:11 am
This goes beyond your C&C request but all crit is helpful, learn to love it. The pose is a bit awkward. It's as if you were shot at random, with no thought to yer poise for the portrait; you're slouched up against your closet door jam for some reason.

Akira is referring to starting out more sketchy, massing in the basic shapes with some thought to volume and space, so ponder light as you sketch out roughs and try and throw in some light and shadow.
Final lineart should always be preceded by exploratory sketches. Forget it's pixel art for a moment.