AuthorTopic: Tutorials?  (Read 22343 times)

Offline notoalpena

• View Profile

Tutorials?

on: October 30, 2008, 06:02:59 am
I'm interested in this, I find it really cool.  :D
Anyone know of any tutorials? I'm completely new to modeling, and know nothing about it.

Offline infinity+1

• the real deal
    • View Profile

Re: Tutorials?

Reply #1 on: October 30, 2008, 02:41:43 pm
i'll second this. been trying out wings, and blender is confusing.

Offline TrevoriuS

• Pixels... everywhere!!
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: October 30, 2008, 05:27:52 pm
I don't know of blender, except for the fact that it frustrated the hell out of me within 5 minutes because it's interface and accessibility differs completely from what I'm used to. It's alot of basic tools you need to learn, and after that it's just pracitcing. If you get either maya or 3D studio max I can hint you on the basics.

Some sidenotes on these packages:
If you get used to maya you can easily model with it, it just lacks filters. However, no matter how used you are max you won't be able to decently animate with it :P

Yes they are not for free, no nobody will know if you have 'em legal or not as long as you don't intent to use this outside your personal space.
Remove above if inappropiate or against rules please

Offline Squiggly_P

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: October 31, 2008, 02:24:04 am
I use Blender and I've no problems with it.  Just takes a week or three to get used to the interface, which is confusing to a lot of people because it's very non-modular compared to other systems.  A lot of other apps are actually 'borrowing' a lot of ideas from Blender's interface lately (the subdivided GUI, the non-modular design, etc).  At least, that's what one guy at the Blender conference this year said.  Maybe he was onto something, but regardless, Blender works great for me.