AuthorTopic: [WIP] Idle sprites  (Read 4731 times)

Offline absolut_oddka

• View Profile

[WIP] Idle sprites

on: October 24, 2008, 04:53:32 am
First post, long-time lurker. These boards are so much fun! Like, work-preventing levels of fun  :-[
Here's my maiden voyage. Four idle & slightly cartoony sprites for my game. I'll add the rest as I get to 'em.

I wasn't sure where to start palette-wise, so I just blended the Arne Palette (v19? v20? I forget) with itself @ 50% and picked the colors I liked best, tweaking along the way. I tried to keep colors per sprite under 16.
Critique, comment, eviscerate, what have you
« Last Edit: November 17, 2008, 10:21:01 pm by absolut_oddka »

Offline Deidara

• View Profile

Re: [WIP] Idle sprites

Reply #1 on: October 24, 2008, 11:28:07 am
I like your style!

The dithering on places like the big guy's arm is bit obvious. But I'm new to pixelart so I don't really know how to handle those places.

Offline chimico

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: October 24, 2008, 01:33:51 pm
beautiful! they all are great.
small edit on the third one's strange pose. the jacket's shape wasn't very distinct because of the way you colored it... i think too many highlights and shadows focused my attention and made me lose the perception of its 3d form. i don't get why there's something white on his nose ^^' is it my fault?

finally, the last guy has a very 'rigid' pose, but i dunno if you wanted it... i could take it as a (not really interesting, but who cares) stylistic choice.

Offline absolut_oddka

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: October 24, 2008, 10:23:44 pm
Thanks for the comments! That edit is good chimico, he looks more stable now and less like he's about to sit down. Sorry about the nose or lack of it, that's actually supposed to be a bandage over the hole.