AuthorTopic: Trying to animate, first post  (Read 4255 times)

Offline CCPC Speaker

• Boooooooh !
    • View Profile

Trying to animate, first post

on: September 14, 2008, 11:17:23 am
Hi everyone ! :D

I'm new on this forum, I've just read the rules so now I'm afraid to post, but I do it anyway.

I discovered it with the work of Bilou some month ago. Starting from that I always wanted to create a little video game ; just a little thing you know, "like jump, jump, run, kill, end of level".

For the little story, I draw mini comics since 2004 and I created a bunch of characters that you can see below

All my attemps to create a pixel character failed, and I just didn't saved them because it was awful. And some weeks ago I retry'd to do something, I imposed to myself a 32x32 and I've done that

4x

It looks okay, I don't really know. Because I'm not a pixel artist (yet ?), I ask myself "Is it a good thing ?" and "How am I going to animate that ?"

I really think my little guy is "not so bad" but I want him to walk like that

(I suck drawing that  :n:)
but I think his legs are too short or something.

Do you pixel-art-genius-guys(/and girls) this original 32x32 sprite can be animated like that or it is reaaly too ambicious ?

Thanks a lot in advance !

Offline Quake

• View Profile

Re: Trying to animate, first post

Reply #1 on: September 14, 2008, 11:34:37 am
Well, for one i think it's good that you can draw stages on pieces of paper, since it'll help a lot, with visualising what will happen.

Never work on white, it makes colours look darker. It also kills your eyes
Also, don't use black outlines.

Anyway, back to your questions.
I don't think it too ambitious, just don't try and put too much detail into the small space, because it'll look clustered and very hard to read what is what.

Hope it helped, i'm a newb xD

-Quake

Offline Shrike

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: September 14, 2008, 03:06:17 pm