AuthorTopic: [WIP, Some Nudity] Now heyy13's Art Dump ~ UPDATED 21/10/08  (Read 14194 times)

Offline heyy13

• View Profile
This is now my art dump for things i'm working on and want crits for. Please scroll down to the latest post for the most recent project. : )

This dragon is a commish for a friend on gaiaonline and is of one of her OCs. I'm having trouble rendering the rocks and would like some advice on how to proceed.

The rocks are supposed to appear as if they're being held togeather only by the roots of the tree.

Sellout was applied purposefully as i've never done it before and wanted to give it a try.

« Last Edit: October 21, 2008, 10:40:10 am by heyy13 »

Offline infinitegames

• View Profile

Re: [WIP] Dragon on a tree on a rock

Reply #1 on: August 30, 2008, 05:52:12 pm
I like it a lot. It will be very cool when finished.

I'm no expert, but a few things jump out at me right away. First, the "back" looks sort of weird. I think you should round it out a little bit better. Second, it's very obviously dithered in some areas which makes it look less smooth than it could. Also, the edges are a little bit too jagged. Try lightening them up a little.

I'm looking forward to seeing more of this.

Offline EdpR

• hello
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: August 30, 2008, 06:23:39 pm
green palette needs more contrast imo

Offline brod

• Chocolate Covered
    • View Profile
    • Website

Reply #3 on: August 30, 2008, 09:37:34 pm
I think the problem is is that the roots seem to be resting on the rocks, if it was holding it together, it'd be nested in it a bit more.

Maybe you can try making cracks around the edges of the roots, or at least make it so that the rocks are indented by them.

On second though, I agree about the colors.

Instead of just changing lum/sat, you should try changing hue too.

For green, you can go from a yellowish-green for brightest, and blueish-green for darkest.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2008, 11:12:46 pm by brod »

Offline heyy13