AuthorTopic: fire fox browser question  (Read 5671 times)

Offline Zurnathus

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

fire fox browser question

on: August 19, 2008, 12:38:06 am
this happen to anybody else using FF??
zoomed images are blurry...doesn't Happen with SeaMonkey or IE
i wonder if it has some kind of auto compressor

Offline AdamAtomic

  • 0100
  • ***
  • Posts: 1188
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • natural born medic
    • View Profile
    • Adam Atomic

Re: fire fox browser question

Reply #1 on: August 19, 2008, 12:41:18 am
known "bug" in ff3 since release, its not a compression thing, its a linear interpolation thing, no known "cure" or workaround yet

Offline Zurnathus

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Re: fire fox browser question

Reply #2 on: August 19, 2008, 01:11:55 am
oh, thanks...i just started using FF, i preferred SeaMonkey, but i got fed up with it. has problems of its own

Offline Colonel Mustard

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Re: fire fox browser question

Reply #3 on: August 19, 2008, 01:37:10 am
A "fix" for this was suggested during alpha stages of FF3, a suggestion to put in several modes of zooming instead of just using billinear scaling (or whatever it's called they're using now), the response was "Why would anyone want that?".

Offline crab2selout.png

  • 0011
  • **
  • Posts: 643
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • lost my left-most pixel in the war
    • View Profile

Re: fire fox browser question

Reply #4 on: August 19, 2008, 02:04:54 am
It's why I'm using 2.0.0.16 until  the blurry is lost.

Quote
A "fix" for this was suggested during alpha stages of FF3, a suggestion to put in several modes of zooming instead of just using billinear scaling (or whatever it's called they're using now), the response was "Why would anyone want that?".
...which sounds like never :(

Offline Squiggly_P

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Re: fire fox browser question

Reply #5 on: September 01, 2008, 08:32:38 am
Damn, I posted this in the off-topic thread cause I didn't see this one.  There's sort of a fix for this a buddy of mine found:

There's an addon for Firefox called IEtab: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1419
Install that and in it's options add this site and whatever other sites into it's list of pages.
This will make all of the listed sites open by default via IEtab, and the blurring issue does not happen.  it's basically opening the sites via IE's engine, but inside of Firefox.

Not a 'real' fix, but it's working for me right now.  Hopefully they'll give people the option to turn filtering off in the next update.

Offline tocky

  • 0011
  • **
  • Posts: 503
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • doublepostokrates
    • View Profile
    • my blog

Re: fire fox browser question

Reply #6 on: September 01, 2008, 01:52:34 pm
You can roll back to firefox 2, if need be.

You can currently still download it from mozilla here: http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all-older.html

You can install it over the top of a FF3 install. Might have some troubles, though I've seen it work, myself.

Offline Squiggly_P

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Re: fire fox browser question

Reply #7 on: September 03, 2008, 07:44:43 pm
according to a buddy who is testing the new Google "Chrome" browser, that has the same issue as the new Firefox version.  It has the same filter and it affects pixel art in the same way.  He's looking for a option to turn it off, but so far has had no luck.  I didn't even want to download it myself...

Offline HMC

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Re: fire fox browser question

Reply #8 on: September 03, 2008, 08:29:40 pm
I resolved to try using Opera for now, as it at least lets you disable interpolating.

Offline Ai

  • 0100
  • ***
  • Posts: 1057
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • finti
    • http://pixeljoint.com/pixels/profile.asp?id=1996
    • finticemo
    • View Profile

Re: fire fox browser question

Reply #9 on: September 04, 2008, 12:15:56 am
A "fix" for this was suggested during alpha stages of FF3, a suggestion to put in several modes of zooming instead of just using billinear scaling (or whatever it's called they're using now), the response was "Why would anyone want that?".
Yeah, it's not needed.. Doing the following should make everyone happy:

For image zoom <200%, do interpolation / decimation.
For image zoom >=200%, don't interpolate.

This is roughly what the latest version of GIMP does. It actually annoys me a little when I get to having say 150% zoom, but you guys'll only want multiples of 100% anyway.

I can confirm it seems to only happen on Windows. (ie. I'm using FF3.01 on Ubuntu Linux to post this, with no blur when zooming.)
If you insist on being pessimistic about your own abilities, consider also being pessimistic about the accuracy of that pessimistic judgement.