AuthorTopic: Samurai Subpixels  (Read 16125 times)

Offline artisan

• View Profile

Samurai Subpixels

on: August 01, 2008, 08:46:41 pm
trying my hand at subpixel animation this is my first try at it... and its a horribly long process :D

the image itself is a remake of something i started but never finished ages ago you can see the old wip here http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/6007/samoldcs5.gif
but to be honest you dont want too...

neways coms and crits? i plan to make it a mock up.
"Im the BATMAN" - the riddler

Offline dragonboy

• View Profile

Re: Samurai Subpixels

Reply #1 on: August 02, 2008, 01:58:12 am
that looks cool, how does sub-pixel animation work?

Offline AdamAtomic

• natural born medic
    • View Profile
    • Adam Atomic

Reply #2 on: August 02, 2008, 05:25:34 am
All those crazy red lines are not working for me at all, just looks like artifacts/mistakes

Offline crab2selout.png

• lost my left-most pixel in the war
    • View Profile

Reply #3 on: August 02, 2008, 10:44:37 am
http://www.gsarchives.net/index2.php?category=all&system=snes&game=super_metroid&type=sprites&level0=animated
An example of a decent subpixel animation. Used on Samus to suggest light breathing while idle.

You're not really doing the sub pixelling correctly. The bottom of the eyes grow two pixels at one point and there really isn't sub pixel on the top of the eyes which move up and down harshly compared with other parts of hte animation. Overall, this is just really distracting, but not in a good way. It comes across as blurry and the ideal of pixel precise placement is getting lost.

And if this is going to be a sprite over a non static background, then it's a really bad idea to subpixel the outside of the sprite.

Offline artisan

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: August 03, 2008, 12:44:43 am
improved?

no more red after studying more into the topic...