AuthorTopic: [WIP] Cowboy  (Read 10913 times)

Offline Leynok

• View Profile

[WIP] Cowboy

on: June 27, 2008, 12:46:40 am

I have already spent several hours on this cowboy. This is my first attempt at mini pixel-art. Usually, I work at a bit larger scale.

Please give me constructive criticism on how to make it better.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2008, 08:32:59 pm by Leynok »

Offline Helm

• View Profile
    • Asides-Bsides

Re: [WIP] Cowboy

Reply #1 on: July 03, 2008, 05:04:59 pm
You have straight ramps (search forum for 'straight ramps', 'hue shifting' and 'color conservation'). This can work for you, but the values of the various parts need to work together. Right now the pants punch through the rest of the piece.

The left arm is long, the arm that holds the gun is really small.

I like the ratio of detail to shape,you're doing quite good. I think it's mostly an issue of removing unneeded outlines, condensing the palette and tending to the anatomy really.

Offline Destiny

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: July 04, 2008, 03:10:55 am
If you gotta have an outline, I would suggest having a darker, bolder outline all across the sprite rather than multicolored. But thats you choice, Id ust suggest making the outline bolder.
The feet look kinda blocky, give them a more realistic shape.
The pants could use some detail, like creases, since he appears to be bending his legs.
You have a bit of a contrast issue on the blue. Id suggest Making the brightest blue shade have a bit of a sky blue hue.
Could use some more interesting colors, and a bit of hueshifting as well.

Anatomy issues have been pointed out by the person above.

Offline Leynok

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: July 07, 2008, 09:02:38 pm
Thank you for all the constructive-criticism.

-Added shine at the tip of the boots
-Tried to add creases
-Changed the pants color
-Modified the hands
-Eliminated the darkest brown color
-Tried to compress the palette
-Tried to make a black outline