AuthorTopic: WIP Main character sprite set for the ARPG I'm programming.  (Read 3698 times)

Offline Beoran

• View Profile
Hi, first submission here. I'm a good programmer but less good an artist.
This is 20x40 Sprite set for the main character of my future action RPG.
I am well aware that these sprites are lacklustre, I want to go for a sort of simple / anime style for my game,
basically something that looks "good enough" to be playable and enjoyable, since I also have to put my time in actually programming the game.

Anyway, C&C please. Should I carry on, or should I look for someone to help me with the artwork in stead?

Also, I need tips on how to construct a nice general palette, that has a cheerful feel to it .
I'm currently using a calculated "evenly spread" 300 color palette (based upon HSL) with many straight ramps. :p I'd like to reduce it to +-64 colors. 

Kind Regards, Beoran.

Offline Ben2theEdge

• I'ma drink mah coffee!
    • View Profile
    • My Deviantart Gallery

Re: WIP Main character sprite set for the ARPG I'm programming.

Reply #1 on: June 19, 2008, 02:04:23 pm
A word of warning, if you're just looking for "good enough" you came to the wrong place ;)

The advice I would give any programmer making their own art is this: even if you're not a great draftsman (or drawer, but I don't like that term because a drawer is something you put your socks in  :P) You can still get by with a little creativity. There is nothing about your character to tell us who he is, where he is, or what he is doing there. He has absolutely no distinguishing features whatsoever. Is he a warrior? Is he a business man? What period is he living in? As it is he looks more or less like Jon Arbuckle from Garfield - a character intentionally designed to be completely standard and forgettable.