AuthorTopic: [WIP]Dude - Animated, Isometric & Breathtaking.  (Read 9572 times)

Offline Helm

• View Profile
    • Asides-Bsides

Re: [WIP]Dude - Animated, Isometric & Breathtaking.

Reply #10 on: February 21, 2008, 03:56:35 pm
Excellent critique. Thank you for posting, Hatch.

Offline Bohne

• Magic beans?
    • View Profile

Reply #11 on: April 15, 2008, 01:49:50 pm
Gentlemen,

It's been a while since my last post, a jiffy is longer than expected sometimes. Thank you all for all the input on the swamp scene, especially Hatch's general point about thinking in terms of "whole scenes rather than individual elements" was spot on, I'm still learning (by leaps and bounds some days) and that point really hit home with me. Hopefully I'll be able to post some updates on the swamp tileset later on to show how I've been doing. Thanks everyone for taking the time, alot of what you've said has been really helpful.

Today, however, Isometric (wo)man has a brand new set of clothes + stuff to show off!

Some self-crit: Wind effect on cape? Color me unconvinced. Alot of the movement in it just feels like random noisy motion rather than the natural flow of cloth caught in the wind - I've been searching YouTube (et al) for some good references on cloth in motion but have come up rather empty-handed. On the whole I'm fairly satisifed, the female version (top one, in case you couldn't tell) is a bit of a hack job, but quality has had to give way to quantity in alot of the stuff I've done lately, hopefully, a good crit beating can set me straight. Be cruel.

Cheers!
England expects that every man will do his duty.

- Horatio Nelson, Oct 21st, 1805.

Offline ninjascience

• View Profile

Reply #12 on: April 15, 2008, 03:48:44 pm
hmmm, nobody I know runs with straight arms, like your man in the purple cape (I did know someone once that often wore a purple cape, I never saw him running, so he *might* have ran that way)