AuthorTopic: [wip] Iso tiles  (Read 4316 times)

Offline Bizze

• View Profile

[wip] Iso tiles

on: March 06, 2008, 04:54:26 pm
Hi there

I'm trying out some iso tiles stuff and thought I would put in a post here for some C&C  ;)
Please ignore the pillow shaded stone at the top.. it will make a one way journey to the bin.

My main problem is the tree, in the picture there is 3 different evolutions of it but I can't seem to get one that stands out properly and they seem rather flat even though I tried to base it on other posts here showing how to think about it as spheres for the shading.

My current tree tile

Even though the tree is my main headache at the moment I would appriciate comments on how to improve any other tile as well :)

Offline ninjascience

• View Profile

Re: [wip] Iso tiles

Reply #1 on: March 06, 2008, 08:33:14 pm
i'm brand new to pixeling myself, but I'm going to chime in with a few things I see.  Anybody else feel free to C+C my C+C.

It looks like you use the "group of spheres" technique for your trees, and it's obvious because you're using the same sphere for each "blob" of the canopy, maybe do a new sphere for each blob.

If you're going to do two different trees, they should look more distinct.  Your smaller tree has brighter leaves, it stands out more against the grass tiles, but it uses the same trunk.

The ground really looks tiled.  You've got more of your dark shade on the bottom edges of the tile, making a distinct V shape that really stands out when repeated.  You've got some alternate tiles
with a little green, or a little lighter color, which is good, but maybe make a few more tiles that have even less of the those elements to mix in as well.

The green strands draped over the level change in the grass tiles looks weird.

I really like the shades you picked for the water, but maybe it's too smooth?

I really like your cactus!  But why is it so close to a forest and a marsh? 

The rocks in the water look really great!