AuthorTopic: Looking for help on top down character  (Read 1987 times)

Offline 41ross

• View Profile

Looking for help on top down character

on: January 14, 2021, 01:28:27 pm
Hi Guys. I'm new to pixel art and I feel like I'm stuck with this top down character.
So it should be a character base for all the characters in my little project. Here I already added hair and eyes so it look more character like.
I didn't want to use a dark color for the outline so I used colors from the shading for it. I'm not shure if that's the right way to do it. With this kind of outline the upper part looks ok, but legs look strange. Also the outline around the character is not constant. I tried to make the outline around the whole charater, but when I did it outside him he looked too thick and when I did it inside him he looked too thin. So I decided to make it only where it looked right for me. So is there any rules about outline? Should it be around the character or it's ok to do it the awy I did?
For the shading I used four colors because I wanted to keep it simple. Front and back views look kinda ok, but when I started working on side and diagonal views I've ran into a problem with hands and legs that are further from us. On the static poses maybe they look ok, but in the animation something looks wrong.
I tried to add more colors to the shading. I thought that it will help with his hands and legs that are further from us. I did a turnaround whith additional colors. It fixed the problem with the back hands and legs, now they are not too dark, but dark enough so during the animation they should be readable. But I think that with more shading colors it looks more blury and it will be harder to animate so I went back to using just four colors.