AuthorTopic: Sidescroller character template  (Read 4481 times)

Offline Shrike

• View Profile

Sidescroller character template

on: February 13, 2008, 10:36:05 pm
Sorry for my long absence. i was really busy....

anyway! heres a template i working on for the run sprite of a sidescroller character. i'n really terrible at run sprites, so i need alot of help...

Taadaa!

whatcha think? i'm using the promotion trial.

Offline infinity+1

• the real deal
    • View Profile

Re: Sidescroller character template

Reply #1 on: February 13, 2008, 10:40:13 pm
i'm no expert on run and walk animations, but a few things i notice...

it kind of lacks the bounce in smoother run animations.
and also, the way his head is positioned, it looks like it's super heavy or something

Offline sharprm

• INTP/INTJ
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: February 13, 2008, 10:42:27 pm
It seems like the legs flick forward too fast. You have three frames where the leg is bent like J. Try and make the leg change more for these frames to reduce the 'kick'. For a run he should be leaving the ground too.
Modern artists are told that they must create something totally original-or risk being called "derivative".They've been indoctrinated with the concept that bad=good.The effect is always the same: Meaningless primitivism
http://www.artrenewal.org/articles/Philosophy/phi

Offline Shrike

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: February 13, 2008, 10:55:16 pm
AH! that makes sense.

Better?

Offline Ixis

• View Profile
    • Ixis' dA site

Reply #4 on: February 13, 2008, 10:58:54 pm
I agree with what's been said, and your arm motion looks really really good.

The main problem seems to be there's no bend with the legs of the weight of the character. Almost like the character's being held up by a rope by the waist. The head bob should also be a bit smother, and maybe work some horizontal movement in there as well.