AuthorTopic: Programmer Art....lol  (Read 2787 times)

Offline Code_wizard

• Dance you little elf, dance I say!
    • View Profile

Programmer Art....lol

on: December 26, 2007, 11:05:35 pm
First post!!  :o

My trade is programming, but I have wanted to try my hand at pixel art for a while now. I have no art background or formal education in the area. Tried a few times last year, but I gave up. Anyway, my enthusiasm was recently reborn and I found this forum while searching for tutorials.

I need some well deserved critique on all the art I've "finished" so far. What have I done wrong, and more importantly what have I done right.

Messing around and trying to create a shield. Each row is a new try and I think I got it right on the 3rd for the small shield. I decided to try my hand at a larger version.

Little walking elf animation I did for fun:

Ship I did when I got into pixeling the first time:

Anyway, commence the critiquing, TAKE COVER!  :lol:

Offline Bacon and Eggs

• View Profile

Re: Programmer Art....lol

Reply #1 on: December 27, 2007, 03:01:38 pm
I'm going to give a fellow coder some support as this sounds much like me at these forums.  I'm still mainly a coder with a pant load of programmer art, so my pixel skillz are not at the par of talented practiced artists either.  I use that clause as a crutch to say that I haven't honed my pixel skill as well as my code skill... I gotta stop doing that.