AuthorTopic: Samus Sprite Feedback  (Read 6404 times)

Offline Jmrhdb

• HelpMyGameComeTure
    • View Profile

Samus Sprite Feedback

on: September 19, 2020, 11:56:58 pm
Hello all! Hope everyones staying safe!

I'm still very new to pixel art so I wanted some feedback (and yes criticism lol) from one of my drawings of Samus from ssbu character render.

I'm terrible at shading and picking colors, but I tried my best. I also feel like it looks to shiny. I also tried to keep the size to 64x64 but I went a few pixels bigger, is that a problem?
But what do you think? What needs to be fixed? I also put an unshaded sprite incase someone else wanted to show by example.

I know there's a lot of things that should be addressed but i'm pretty much reaching my skill cap limit.

Thanks!

First drawing:

Unshaded:

(was going to include the render for Samus in Super Smash. Ultimate that I drew from, but you'll just have to google it)
« Last Edit: September 19, 2020, 11:59:07 pm by Jmrhdb »

Offline dpixel

• http://pixeljoint.com/p/20306.htm
    • View Profile

Re: Samus Sprite Feedback

Reply #1 on: September 20, 2020, 12:53:06 am
What you have there is something called pillow shading.  See this tutorial.  http://pixeljoint.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=11299
Scroll down to the pillow shading part.

Offline fskn

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: September 20, 2020, 07:22:24 am
Yeah, pillow shading is the equivalent of taking a photo with the flash on. It doesn't give you great lighting.
So pick a position for your light (top left or right, bottom, etc.) but not straight at the character.

Good drawing, though, especially the silouette (which is very important for readability) and good colors, only there are IMHO too many of them. You could probably do about the same with a dozen or fewer.

Offline tecnologgamer

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: September 20, 2020, 04:48:43 pm
Yeah u are doing too much pillow shading and you pick many colors.