AuthorTopic: Animating a Toad Boss for an RPG (WIP)  (Read 2833 times)

Offline PresidentLeever

• View Profile

Animating a Toad Boss for an RPG (WIP)

on: September 14, 2007, 05:38:23 am
Hello everyone. This is my first post here, though Ive been lurking for some time.. watching, learning.. ;)

Anyway, this sprite will be the first boss for an RPG project. It's being developed for the Sega Mega Drive/Genesis console, so there are some limits like 16 colors per sprite, and only 30 blocks of 32x32 pixels per enemy for animations.

So far I've done "hurt" and "spit/lick" animations, C&C for these are very much apreciated!
Also, I'm going to start working on a charge animation (think rhino charge) but I'm really new to this so I was wondering if you guys had any tips for me?

Offline baccaman21

• It's critique, don't take it personally.
    • View Profile
    • Linked In

Re: Animating a Toad Boss for an RPG (WIP)

Reply #1 on: September 14, 2007, 09:12:06 am
First things first... you need to consolidate your pallette.

You know you only have 15 colors to play with (excluding the mask color -[which incidentally should be index color 0, or the first color in each bank of 16 colors])  anyway, on some frames the count is up to 18, and the final frame 19! - So you need to be careful when making those edits... I'm not sure how you've managed to duplicate colors like this but you have... so be aware.

I've taken the liberty to convert your pallette to a decent range... and I've consolidated it across the sequence of frames for you. (In promotion theres a single palette feature across animations that maintains the pallette integrity from frame to frame making it easier to not screw up)

Your mask color is now in the correct place... (Color 0) and there's no duplicate colors... it's now easy to see where those extra colors were used. (when you cut and paste the head to 'animate' it)