AuthorTopic: Will I get better?  (Read 6787 times)

Offline Supper

• View Profile

Will I get better?

on: June 20, 2020, 04:52:47 pm
Well, I’ve been making pixel art for almost 6 months (actually, I don’t remember the exact date, I use the date when I started making lospec dailies) and lately, I’ve been getting kind of motivated sometimes and this question always comes up my head: I train every day, I always try to do something different, will I be good at it?

Offline Joe

• View Profile

Re: Will I get better?

Reply #1 on: June 21, 2020, 07:20:23 pm
Naturally. Just persist, and do not get impatient. Study fundamentals, take notes, practice. Proficiency is then inevitable.

Offline miarapixelart

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: June 25, 2020, 08:03:20 pm
when i started i copied alot.
use referances and copy them, that will raise your skill

Offline Iscalio

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: July 31, 2020, 01:16:59 am
If you keep doing pixel art you'll get better for sure. 6 months is really not too long in terms of time to hone that skill so I wouldn't worry if 6 months in you still feel not as good as you'd like. Gods my first 6 months probably weren't great at all and I had an art education background etc.

If you feel like you're hitting a wall you want to break through I suggest trying to look at things from a new perspective. One book we had to read and work through in art school was Betty Edwards' Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain, which can break some of the mental assumptions you may make in art.

There are also some fundamental principles or questions to art that can each add a dimension to your work. In animation it's the 12 principles of animation. In art I forget off the top of my head but it's like...

What's your camera angle? Maybe try looking up at a person and they feel more powerful or noble. Look down on them and they seem weak or small.