AuthorTopic: Rpg tile graphics  (Read 11963 times)

Offline Danik

• View Profile

Rpg tile graphics

on: August 20, 2007, 01:51:18 am
Hi,
I just registered at the forums. I'm pretty new to pixel art, but have done some simple work for my own games in the past and I like to draw. I'm really impressed by the work I see in this forum, it's very inspiring. I red that Pro Motion was good for pixeling so I downloaded the trial. I have some plans on games I want to make, so I want to get better.

Here is some stuff I made tonight trying out the program,

Dithering practice... does this look ok?

Some furniture.

I have some problems with the texture on the table, any help on how to make it look less random and more like wood?

Critique and pointers are very welcome.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2007, 07:10:38 pm by Danik »

Offline ejay

• View Profile

Re: Furniture and dithering practice

Reply #1 on: August 20, 2007, 07:37:21 am
Regarding the wood grain - look up wood textures (there are plenty of texture sites out there , http://www.cgtextures.com is one of my favorites ) , and use them as refernce. You can see that the grain tends to flow in certain ways , and you can duplicate that type of flow on your table . Depending on the style you're after, you may want to enlarge the grain to make better use of the space and to help it read better.
As for the furniture itself - Its looks very nice but I'm missing some antialiasing , for example in the chair's legs where the lit edge meets the dark one.

Offline Danik

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: August 20, 2007, 11:21:04 am
That looks like a great site, thanks for the link.
An update:

Tried to make the grain more like grain, but it feels too big and obvious...
Also tried to fix the legs of the chair.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2007, 11:23:28 am by Danik »

Offline Danik

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: August 21, 2007, 11:50:40 am
I can draw bigger pics okay I think but when it comes to pixel pushing I need lots of practice.