AuthorTopic: Title Sceen WIP  (Read 9368 times)

Offline Mathias

• Goodbye.
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/9542.htm
    • View Profile

Re: Title Sceen WIP

Reply #20 on: May 03, 2020, 06:55:49 pm
Yo. Yep that title screen site is really cool. Should've linked it sooner.
So uhh, my background is in graphic design, and as a graphic designer I'm pretty confused by the current title color choice, making it blend into the sky. You've got a blue sky, then a red stripe, then the same blue again for the type. In my opinion it creates an awkward contradiction - scale of the lettering implies the type element is important, but at the same time the colors are low contrast, blending into the background as if to be less visible. Does your ninja cloak and go transparent mode or something?
The lettering shapes are fine. I think the rest is a no-brainer - high contrast/high energy color combination.
I would probably tighten up the N and J's kerning.

Should the cloud reflections actually curve/warp? I don't think so. Not unless the surface of the lake itself is curved, right? Otherwise it's basically a flat mirror and your current iteration has it correct.
If anything I'd change how the sides of the lake wrap in towards us like the shot was taken with an extreme fisheye lens. Seems to defy normal perspective.

Offline Mathcong

• Mathcong_
    • View Profile

Reply #21 on: May 04, 2020, 03:40:14 pm
Yo. Yep that title screen site is really cool. Should've linked it sooner.
So uhh, my background is in graphic design, and as a graphic designer I'm pretty confused by the current title color choice, making it blend into the sky. You've got a blue sky, then a red stripe, then the same blue again for the type. In my opinion it creates an awkward contradiction - scale of the lettering implies the type element is important, but at the same time the colors are low contrast, blending into the background as if to be less visible. Does your ninja cloak and go transparent mode or something?