AuthorTopic: [WIP] Hi, beginner here, I'm stuck dealing with grass in my scene.  (Read 4692 times)

Offline TPoe

• RoyalePoe
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/20746.htm
    • View Profile
I don't know where the idea that this more detailed scene is more complex to implement into a game comes from. You literally just need to make shadow sprite, and one that goes in front of the player's feet to imply they're in deep grass. You don't need to shade every space to make sure wherever they're standing looks perfect with the blades of grass that are there. Where does that idea even come from?

Anyway the newer version looks good, I suggest for a next step you take what you learned with the grass and apply it to other areas in the scene, such as the bushes in the back. Right now they're looking pretty noisy. If you apply the techniques from the grass (simple shapes, hue variation etc.) you'll have a much more harmonious scene. Look forward to seeing your improvement.

Offline Rydin

• ...zzzt...
    • @thickDumps
    • View Profile
    • thickDumps
You don't need to shade every space to make sure wherever they're standing looks perfect with the blades of grass that are there. Where does that idea even come from?

I appreciate you for keeping me in check TPoe ;D I honestly need to be called out on my BS lol

Here's my angle:

If making a game for profit, one has to consider return on investment, diminishing returns, and just-noticeable differences.

Perhaps from a programming standpoint there is no tangible difference in workload between a sophisticated asset or a simple asset.