AuthorTopic: Understanding the anatomy of a tree and leaves in pixel art + critiquing a tree  (Read 474 times)

Offline Gypsy

• View Profile
Hey everyone,

I'm new to learning pixel art and am certain I'm not the first person to struggle with trees. Hoping advice on how to fix this one will help me understand making the work look better. All in all, my greatest weakness is making "leaves", as most of the time I see random pixels next to one another that look like a tree in the end. Is there a pattern or approach that can help me understand making leaves better.

Thank you for your time.
Gypsy

tree-handdrawn" border="0

Offline Chonky Pixel

• tequila_ben
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/187855.htm
    • https://www.facebook.com/chonkypixel/?modal=admin_todo_tour
    • View Profile
    • Chonky Pixel
There is indeed an approach to making leaves. Or rather, several...

You obviously understand that the crosshatching approach you have here isn't particularly satisfying (although it has a certain minimalist charm). I don't have time for an edit just now but if I get a moment I'll come back with some ideas.

Here's one approach:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QfpIKDLtf9I

Another is to literally go leaf by leaf, using a diagonal criss-cross pattern and two layers of leaves (for depth). If you go this route you'll end up drawing little shadows on individual leaves, which is very zen and also very time-consuming. (And will give a better result.)

Which kind of leaf shape and pattern would you like to go for?

Basically, there are two parts to any approach like this: Low detail -> high detail and modular design.

First you roughly block out colours for light and shade. You've started doing this, but don't use crosshatched edges. Also, some of your highlights don't look quite convincing.