AuthorTopic: [wip]orc character for top down game  (Read 3805 times)

Offline nizzate

• View Profile

[wip]orc character for top down game

on: July 02, 2007, 06:03:57 pm
Hey im new to the forum and Im pretty new to pixeling and really new to pixeling top down characters like this. I wanted to see what you guys think about it.  I really need some crits on this. Maybe crits on anatomy or the color pallette  any help is greatly appreciated! thanks!
« Last Edit: July 03, 2007, 07:11:02 pm by nizzate »

Offline smiker

• http://youtube.com/watch?v=cbaRMjlLWng
    • View Profile
    • Smiker's Portal (WIP)

Re: [wip]orc character for top down game

Reply #1 on: July 03, 2007, 11:05:03 pm
well one side, i like the pose, it reads well that he is running. but colors...there's a lack on it...
i mean, if you plan to add it at a obscure atmosphere it should work, any other case... it would be too dark.
Also i truely think that it needs more contrast, so i have done a small color edit so you can appreciate what i'm saying:

EDIT:

anyway, i think you should make his anatomy more detailed in the stomach zone, it looks like he has just received a punch in the middle of it lol

Smiker, please use the edit button instead of double posting within a couple of minutes.
  :mean:
« Last Edit: July 04, 2007, 06:50:21 am by Panda »

Offline nizzate

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: July 05, 2007, 04:54:51 am

I think i fixed the contrast issue. Think that the abs look ok now?  Im working on the run cycle and i have the line art.  Once i finish coloring it in Ill post. Any more crits?

Offline Arachne

• View Profile
    • Retinal Eclipse

Reply #3 on: July 06, 2007, 11:17:53 pm
It's a good start, but there's a lot that needs adjusting.

To be honest, I can't tell what he's supposed to be doing. I think it would help you if you look at walk/run cycles first and learn how to animate something like that from a side view before you try a different angle.