AuthorTopic: Period piece: Panzers on the prowl WIP  (Read 43233 times)

Offline JackBauer24

• View Profile

Period piece: Panzers on the prowl WIP

on: June 25, 2007, 11:51:19 am
Hello to all.  I am new to this forum and really like what I see.  I have several projects going on but the main one I am working on is a battle in a small village in France, era WWII.  I am seeking advise on how to make it better.  Also, I am fairly new to the definitive methods of pixel art.  I grew up just drawing what I like to draw, which happens to be WWII German armor and vehicles.  Anyhow, I wont bore you any more, here it is, enjoy!

Jack

Offline EyeCraft

• What are you scared of?
    • View Profile
    • Death By Dev

Re: Period piece: Panzers on the prowl WIP

Reply #1 on: June 25, 2007, 03:23:47 pm
Gday Jack, welcome to the forum  :D. Well, where to begin with advice... it's a big piece so there's a lot to scour...

I'd say there's three main things you should address first:
- anatomy and poses of the soldiers
- colours of the piece
- shading

Since you say you mainly just draw for fun, I'll assume you don't know too much about various techniques, so I'll try to link to articles about them where I can. You might want to acquaint (or reacquaint) yourself with some colour theory, first off. The colours in this piece for the most part are all very saturated (especially the trees). You can vastly improve the look and feel of this setting by toning down alot of the saturation. I think your picture could especially benefit from some aerial perspective, also. Following that vein, the sky is too saturated and too dark, I reckon. Also, there's too much contrast between the clouds and the sky.

As for anatomy, the right-most soldier's arms are too short, and I think his legs might need to be a teensy bit longer (same with the other guys). Apart from that they seem to be pretty good.