AuthorTopic: My first attempt at pixel-art  (Read 2939 times)

Offline kazster

• View Profile

My first attempt at pixel-art

on: May 25, 2007, 08:05:08 am
Hey guys.

This is my first attempt at doing any kind of pixel-art. It's supposed to be a bomb missile. I tried adding in some damage detail to the bomb, but it didn't work out too well so I just took it out. All comments/questions/etc... are welcome.

Offline Zee

• I wish I could have an avatar.
    • View Profile

Re: My first attempt at pixel-art

Reply #1 on: May 25, 2007, 04:49:20 pm
Fire typically doesn't need to be outlined.

Offline Opacus

• Entangled
    • View Profile
    • www.jimjansen.net

Reply #2 on: May 25, 2007, 06:11:37 pm
Fire typically doesn't need to be outlined.
Pure stylistic choice. This piece has much bigger problems then just the outlines on the fire.
First of all, it looks quite unpolished, boring and non-dynamic. The second flame is slightly better, but fire typically never gets red, it tends to go from white, to yellow, to orange, to brown. The shading on what seems a tube formed torpedo of some sort, is flawed. The light typically doesn't fall right on top of it, since that's impossible. The lightest highlight is not big enough. What kind of lightsource falls in a thin line on a torpedo? Also, light bounces of the ground also, so the underside is mostly lighted a bit too. Also, maybe some ambient lighting from the flame on the torpedo?
Here's a little edit:

Offline kazster

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: May 25, 2007, 06:16:10 pm
Wow! Looks alot better!

Offline AdamAtomic

• natural born medic
    • View Profile
    • Adam Atomic

Reply #4 on: May 25, 2007, 06:18:28 pm
My edit of an edit (note - the front of the missile and the flame shape itself could use a bit of work):