AuthorTopic: Self introduction / Palette woes  (Read 2304 times)

Offline Nakazoto

• View Profile

Self introduction / Palette woes

on: October 31, 2019, 11:07:20 am
Hello all!
My name is David, nice to meet y'all.

Recently, I've been building a game in the Godot engine and have been tackling all the artwork myself. I'm an awful artist, and even worse pixel artist, but I've played a lot of Final Fantasy and it's been a big inspiration for me getting my artwork sorted.

At any rate, I posted up a little of my progress on the Godot subreddit (https://www.reddit.com/r/godot/comments/dnp4gx/update_on_my_topdown_rpg/), and user viniciuscsg provided a ton of fantastic help. I'm not sure if he has the same username here, but he suggested I come and introduce myself.

However, as with all fields, the deeper you dive into it, the easier it is to become overwhelmed. My primary problem at the moment is the Palette. There's lots of fantastic Palettes out there, and I'm kind of getting lost in the whole situation.  So, I attached four pictures of my current standpoint. The picture itself isn't from the actual game, just a small image I threw together that featured a majority of the tiles I have created so far. If they posted up in order, here's the explanation on each one:

The first picture is my current Palette.
I use the Zughy32 Palette from Lospec: https://lospec.com/palette-list/zughy-32
I'm really pretty happy with this Palette, but based on advice from viniciuscsg, I started playing with how I was using the colors and found myself having a hard time achieving a balance between harsh outlines and washed out colors. At one point, it was so washed out it looked like a different Palette altogether. So, I figured if I had more colors to play with, I could find that balance. Which leads me to the second picture.

The second one is the AAP-64 Palette from Lospec: https://lospec.com/palette-list/aap-64